Kerala State Film Awards 2016 | The 48th Kerala State Film Awards | Actress Rajisha Vijyana | Actor Vinayakan | Director Vidhu Vencent Manhole Movie

Minister of state for cinema AK Balan announced The 48th Kerala State Film Awards awards at a press conference at Thiruvananthapuram. As many as 68 Malayalam films were listed among the state award nominations for this year. A 10-member jury led by Odisha director A.K. Bir sat through these 68 feature films, including eight movies for children, before short-listing 10 movies. The jury, which watched five movies a day from February 21, considered many of them sub-standard. Only 12 Malayalam movies made it to the final round of screening.

This time, the awards proved to be refreshingly different, recognizing a supporting actor for his role in a gritty, hard-hitting avatar and giving him the main award. Vinayakan won the Best Actor award for his performance in Kammatipaadam, while Rajisha Vijayan won the Best Actress for her performance as Elizabeth in Anuraga Karikkin Vellam.

Vidhu Vincent's critically acclaimed film Manhole has bagged the Best Film award. The film addressed the social issue of the Arunthathiyar caste being subjected to manual scavenging on the basis of their caste.

The film was screened at the International Film Festival of Kerala 2016 and loved for its perspective as the story was told through the eyes of a 12th standard girl.

Santosh Babusenan and Satish Babusenan's social drama Ottayal Paatha, loosely translated as 'The Narrow Path', has bagged the second best film in the Kerala State Film Awards

Given below is the list of winners at the Kerala State Film Awards 2016.

Best movie - Manhole
Best Second Movie - Ottayal Patha
Best Popular Movie - Maheshinte Prathikaaram
Best Actor - Vinayakan (Kammatipaadam)
Best Actress - Rajisha Vijayan (Anuraga Karikkin Vellam)
Best Director - Vidhu Vincent (Manhole)
Best Character Actor - Manikandan Achari (Kammatipaadam)
Best Character Actress - Kanchana VK (Olappeeppi)
Best Debut Director - Shanavas K Bavakutty (Kismath)
Best Story - Salim Kumar (Karutha Joothan)
Best Screenplay (Original) - Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaaram)
Best Screenplay (Adapted) - Jury did not find quality entries
Best Children's Movie - Kolumittayi
Best Child Artist (Male) - Chetan Jaylal (Guppy)
Best Child Artist (Female) - Abeni Aadhi (Kochavva Paulo Ayyappa Coelho)
Best Cinematography - M.J. Radhakrishnan (Kaadu Pookkunna neram)
Best Music Director - M Jayachandran (Kambhoji)
Best Singer (Male) - Suraj Santhosh (Thaniye - Guppy)
Best Singer (Female) - K.S. Chithra (Nadavathil - Kambhoji)
Best Background Score - Vishnu Vijay (Guppy)
Best Lyrics - ONV Kurup (Kambhoji - Award given posthumously)
Special Jury Award (Actor) - K. Kaladharan (Ottayal Patha)
Special Jury Award (Camera) - Gireesh Gangadharan (Guppy)
Best Costume Design - Steffy Xavier (Guppy)
Best Sound Design - Jayadevan Chakkadath (Kaadu Pookkunna Neram)
Best Sound Mixing - Pramod Thomas (Kaadu Pookkunna Neram)
Best Dubbing Artist (Male) - Vijay Mohan (Oppam)
Best Dubbing Artist (Female) - Thagamani (Olappeeppi)
Best Makeup - N.G. Roshan (Kambhoji)
Best Choreography - Vineeth (Kambhoji)
Best Book on Cinema - Cinema muthal cinema vare
Best Article on Cinema - Velutha thirasheelayile karutha udalukal
Cine Popcorn

Cine Popcorn

Movie Matters Unlimited

Post A Comment: